New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Shall we dance?

Male (51) looking for Female Sanford, Florida, United States

How to describe myself? Hmmm. Some years ago I overheard a friend’s 8 year old describing me to another adult. She said, “That’s Mr. Blaik. He’s very talented – he can skate backwards!”. Naturally this gave me a chuckle. I don’t normally think of that skill as a headliner on my resume, so to speak, but to her it was a big selling point. I guess the point of this story (there was a point) is that what makes a person worth spending time with depends on your point of view. What’s yours?
The basics about me: I was born and raised in Spartanburg SC, undergrad at Rhodes College in TN and grad school at Duke University in NC. I moved to Orlando in 1994 and have worked as a database engineer since. I enjoy many hobbies and have a passion for the outdoors. I cycle, paddle, hike, skate, sail, and play disc golf, among other things. I also enjoy ballroom dancing and I hung around in so many classes that I started teaching a little on the side. Lately I've been getting into the sport of orienteering (adventure racing with map and compass).
A great quiet day off for me consists of packing up my kayak and my camera and taking off for parts unknown in search of serene waters and wildlife pictures. Enjoying nature relaxes and recharges me. If I'm feeling a bit more industrious, I'll work on my endless list of renovation projects around the house (I bought a 100-year-old home in the Sanford historic district in 2007 and have been slowly working on it ever since).
Personality-wise I'm quiet and shy in some situations and very outgoing in others. I'm usually the “listener/watcher” type at bars/clubs. On the other hand, at a ballroom event I’m on the dance floor almost constantly, dragging the shy partners out of their seats. I also come from a family of educators and love to teach. Get me up in front of a class, and shutting me up might require strangulation. My friends describe me as sincere, even-tempered, and down-to-earth. I’m responsible, dependable, and always ready to go the extra mile to help a friend. I am also a good listener.
I’ll warn you in advance that I have a bit of an irreverent, sarcastic streak (probably watched too much South Park over the years). On the other hand, I am also scrupulously polite. It's very hard to offend me (I'm very easy-going), and I am mystified by the quick-tempered and rude. I'll take my drama in the theater and the Tango, please.
So what am I looking for? The phrase "partner in crime" comes to mind. I've taken the 5 Love Languages test, and think there's something to it. My results, in priority order, are:
10 Quality Time
8 Physical Touch
6 Affirming Words
6 Acts of Service
0 Receiving Gifts
Top priority for me is someone I can enjoy spending time with. I tend to organize my free time and vacations around fun activities, both old hobbies and new experiences. Bike riding, hiking, paddling, and dancing appear in the list often, but I also like a steady diet of new things -- an archery lesson, a zipline course, a massage class, a horseback ride, etc. I am looking for someone who would enjoy this active lifestyle with me.
Physical affection in both directions is also very important to me. When I'm with someone, I'm pretty much incapable of walking by them without touching them. I'm the sort of person who, when we sit at a booth in a restaurant, sometimes wants to sit with you on one side rather than opposite you, so we can be closer. At home, having a mutual cuddle/backrub partner is one of the best things about being with someone. Fair warning: If you don't enjoy having your hair played with, I'm probably not your guy.
BTW, yes my name is Blaik, and yes it's an odd spelling, not a typo of Blair or Balik or something similar. Sounds just like "Blake", but mom just had to be different. My last name, Mathews, is spelled funny too - 1 T instead of the usual 2. So I pretty much get my name misspelled everywhere I go. Bonus points for you if you get it right. ;-)

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Signup Free Here

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritageAmerican
BuildSlim
Height188 cm
Eye ColorGreen
Hair ColorBrown
Hair LengthShort
Facial HairNone
Best featureButt
Body ArtNone
Health ConditionNo problems
My AttractivenessAverage

Situation

Relationship StatusSingle
Has childrenNo children
Wants kidsNot sure
Housing SituationAll is calm
Living ArrangementsAlone
Wants to RelocateNo
Has a carYes

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Masters
SpecialtyComputers / Electronic
Employment StatusUnemployed
Annual income$50,000 - $100,000
Job TitleDatabase engineer

Leisure & Fun

TV preferencesDocumentaries, Dramas, Science fiction
Favorite TV showsLaw & Order, The Daily Show, South Park, Big Bang Theory
Favorite movies typesAction, Science fiction, Comedy, Drama, Documentary
Music typesCountry, Rock, Pop, Dance
Idea of funTime outdoors! I love enjoying the natural beauty of Florida, especially anything on the water.
HobbiesDancing, Photography, Camping, Fishing

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingLight / social drinker
Social behaviorReserved
In High School I was a(n)Brain
Sense of humorDry / sarcastic
My great timeHanging out with friends, Trying new things
Always wanted to trySailplane flying, ultralight aircraft.

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionAtheist
Attend religious servicesNever

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Good Looks, Humor, Great skills, Empathy, Sensitivity, Wit, Thoughtfulness