New here? Sign Up Have an account?

“I want to be with those who know secret things or else alone.”

Female (36) looking for Male Austin, Texas, United States

"The only people for me are the mad ones- the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn, like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars..." -Jack Kerouac, On the Road

"Somebody came along and said 'liberal' means 'soft on crime, soft on drugs, soft on Communism, soft on defense, and we're gonna tax you back to the Stone Age because people shouldn't have to go to work if they don't want to.' And instead of saying, 'Well, excuse me, you right-wing, reactionary, xenophobic, homophobic, anti-education, anti-choice, pro-gun, Leave it to Beaver trip back to the '50s,' we cowered in the corner and said, 'Please don't hurt me.'" -West Wing

What I’m doing with my life:
I finally have settled in Austin, after many nomadic years in my 20s. I am a 2nd/3rd grade teacher at Inside Outside School in South Pflugerville, a very progressive, private school. I love it SOOOO much, especially getting to teach cooking, theatre, rock band on elective day, having nature literacy time in the woods and at the creek, teaching piano at the school, and letting the kids' own interests guide our learning: no more standardized testing for me! :-)

I’m really good at"
selling myself on questions like these, of course...
I do have a knack for grabbing the perfect number of items for a task-at-hand: hangers for clothes, papers/fliers, etc.
But, as all knacks go, it is quite inconsistent with its appearances.

The first things people usually notice about me:
Why, my sparkling charm and unequivocally brilliant mind, of course!
I don't know. Probably my eyes...my dad called me Yoda when he first saw me because of my big eyes and long fingers. And yes, I do accept this as a sobriquet. ;-)

Favorite books, movies, shows, music:
Books: "A Room without books is a body without soul." -Cicero.
Right now, I'm into Fitzgerald, Wilde, O'Hara. I love fiction (lots of classics as well as people like Eugenides or Kingsolver), poetry, history and biographies of people I admire.

Music: I love so much music- beginning with Chopin and Shastokovich and ending with The Beatles and Neutral Milk Hotel...and so much in between... Right now I'm listening to: Lucius, St. Paul and the Broken Bones, Jacqueline DuPre, Thao, Sarah Jaffe, The National, and Joni Mitchell.

Favorite TV Shows: Game of Thrones, Silicon Valley, Cosmos!, The IT Crowd, Arrested Development, Downton Abbey, Parks and Recreation, Extras, Dexter, Breaking Bad, Travel/Discovery/History Channels.

Favorite Movies: many old/classic movies/musicals, bbc's pride and prejudice, delicatessen, chocolat, the royal tenenbaums, me and you and everyone we know, no country for old men, all about eve, midnight in paris, princess bride.

Some favorite directors are jeunet, the coen brothers, miyazaki, wes anderson, guillermo del toro.

The six things I could never do without:
music, a piano/keyboard, loved ones, books, the "country, the "city."

I spend a lot of time thinking about:
everything! It is a long-recognized internal challenge of mine, to try and silence my thoughts.
When I was in middle school, I spent quite a few hours fleshing out the idea that our world was a Christmas ornament for another world.

On a typical Friday night I am:
playing music, eating out, discussing anything, playing games, hanging out at a dive bar, seeing a band, etc., etc.

The most private thing I’m willing to admit:
I have had the following nicknames at different times in my life: Yakla, Kayla Plain, and Klumsy Kayla.
So...yeah. Take those as you will.

You should message me if:
you somehow feel a Dostoevskian "perfect stranger" connection via internet?

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Join Free Here

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
BuildCurvy
Height5' 8" (173 cm)
Eye ColorGreen
Hair ColorBrown
Body ArtVisible tattoo
My AttractivenessAttractive

Situation

Relationship StatusSingle
Has childrenNo children
Wants kidsYes
Housing SituationFriends come over occasionally
Living ArrangementsWith roomate(s)
Wants to RelocateNo
Has a carYes

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Bachelors
SpecialtyEducation / Academic
Employment StatusFull-time
Job Title2nd/3rd Grade Teacher

Leisure & Fun

HobbiesArts & Crafts, Reading, Learning, Music, Movies, Games, Dancing, Family, Dining, Theater, Travel, Cooking, Camping, Shopping

Personality

SmokerQuitting smoking
DrinkingLight / social drinker
Social behaviorFriendly
Friends describe asFriendly
In High School I was a(n)Brain
Sense of humorClever
My great timeHanging out with friends, Partying, Staying at home, Trying new things, The movies, Relaxing, Reading a book, Going to a concert, Going to a museum

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionAtheist
Attend religious servicesNever

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Good Looks, Humor, Great skills, Empathy, Sensitivity, Boldness, Oddities, Spontaneity, Power, Wit, Thoughtfulness